Day 2

Day two for me with the Oculus Rift. Today is a short session, just to check if the settings in Oculus Config affect my experiences in the demo scene.

Like yesterday, the lenses tend to attract moisture after just a few minutes. Also, the tracking at the virtual desk still seems a tiny bit off. Moving the camera closer to the center of my real desk doesn’t improve that, nor does it help to place the camera on the monitor.

Demo scene

Just looking around in the demo scene results in a hint of sickness. I would describe it as airsickness, at a very early stage. Generally, I’m  not very susceptible to air sickness or car sickness though, and the cases when I did experience it were always pretty extreme.

The feeling does tend to stay, even minutes after putting off the Rift. Having read about people feeling ill for extended periods of time on the Oculus Forums, I would avoid any demos that can cause serious sickness.

Leave a comment